NS Yoon-G – Yasisi

NS Yoon-G’s new song will grow on you

The song

So this song didn’t wow me on first listen, but after I listened a couple more times I found it had really stuck in my head.

I really like the ‘Baby touch like that’ lines, the English is good and doesn’t feel (as a native English speaker) wedged into the song. Any native Korean speakers want to share how the English feels to them?

 NS Yoon-G does a great job of mixing breathy vocals with more powerful lines, something I usually associate with girl groups with a wider variety of voices at their disposal.

Not a fan of the borderline rap breakdown (Get crazy with it.) It didn’t really feel like it was called for in this song. It does however seem to be a growing trend in Kpop songs and is probably something I’m going to have to get used to.

The video

The video isn’t complicated but I like it, there’s not a lot of heavily choreographed dance in the video itself, but the Yasisi leg part is probably going to be being imitated in Youtube videos for a while.

Yoon-G is undoubtedly beautiful and it’s nice to see a well dressed Kpop star in a MV. I’ve noticed that there is quite a trend of Kpop stars wearing lovely clothes that just don’t suit them.

That having been said, I’m not a fan of leotards as outerwear and I hope that trend dies soon.

All in all I like it, I would have liked to see a big plot video, but with lyrics as adult as this that’s still a rarity in Kpop.

For those who are interested, here is the ‘original version’ of the song:

Interested in NS Yoon-G? Check out her artist page.

What do you think of Yasisi? Another forgettable entry into the ‘sexy’ Kpop carousel or an instant classic? Comment below with your thoughts!

Hallyu Noona

Have something to say?

