Music shows and comebacks

No snippy comment from me on this ūüė¶

Right guys, it’s that time of the week where normally you would be expecting to see lots of music shows and M/V releases from me.

I didn’t want to just not post these without an explanation for you all. The Kpop industry is pretty much at a standstill at the moment due to the Sewol ferry incident.

First and foremost, my thoughts are with the families affected by the incident.  As always, things like this are terrible for people to go through and no words will make it better.

As for the Kpop industry, on the one hand kudos to the companies and artists for showing respect. On the other hand, rumours that comebacks etc. may be delayed until the end of July seems a little extreme and a cynical person might say that’s because no one wants to be the person to go first.

I personally am not sure how delaying music releases and cancelling TV programmes¬†shows¬†respect, but then I am a bit socially inept, so maybe that’s just me.

I know a lot of you are waiting for Exo’s album release and that looks like it will be May 31st.

Pretty much all other comebacks and debuts are indefinitely delayed at this stage.

As for the music stages, M!countdown have confirmed they are cancelling this week’s and it seems likely the other shows will follow suit, both in deference to the tragedy and in light of the delays to comebacks and debuts.

It is possible television schedules for dramas, etc. may also be affected.

Whatever your opinions on the entertainment industry’s reaction to this, I am sure we can all agree to hope that Korea’s pain eases and the families find some way to deal with what is a very difficult situation.

Hallyu Noona

2 comments

  1. renscreativity

    I agree. Condolences to the friends, families effected by this accident. I also think July is a bit to long as well. I think because they are still searching up until this point and don’t know when the search will end which could also be the cause why extending it that long.

    Like

    • HallyuNoona

      While I understand that, it feels more like media play than anything else on the entertainment companies part, even with the search ongoing, the whole music industry being hold seems a disproportionate response to me.

      Like

Have something to say?

