Mr.Mr. – Big man

Mr.Mr may have had their share of scandals, and I won’t lie, it was hard to review this objectively. I’m really rather proud of myself.

The song

This song is a grower. I wasn’t sure the first couple of listens, but I do rather like it now. As with a number of Kpop songs, the English lyrics do not make a lot sense, but part of that is always the fact they will have put only a couple of English lines into an otherwise Korean song. Tbh, I’m quite happy to not worry too much about the words I’m singing.

It’s got a fairly slow pace which I always expect to pick up. It’s not that it’s bad, just that it doesn’t go where my brain thinks it will.

 The video

 I love the video. I don’t know if it’s because I’m a sucker for a man in a suit or if the video is actually good, didn’t get to see a huge amount of the dance though.

One thing I wasn’t keen on was the lens flare effects everywhere, c’mon you’re not JJ Abrahms, Mr Director-Man. I quite liked the face decorations, they were interesting to look at and made the black and white less bland.

Hallyu Noona

Have something to say?

